Kuwait made the Guinness Book of World Records again!

You need to watch this 20 minute YouTube video of the awesome one hour fireworks show that Kuwait held last Saturday, November 10, 2012.

Carim Valerio, a representative from the Guinness Book of World records announced, “I am happy to verify that with 77,282 fireworks, a new Guinness world record has been set tonight,” even if it is not yet put up on the official Guinness Book of World Records website.

Yes, that’s right! That one hour of 77,282 fireworks display costed 4.16 million Kuwait Dinars or 15 million US Dollars! Insane! Having grown up in Kuwait, it makes me proud that Kuwait has achieved international recognition other than having the highest money exchange rate. It was just too bad that I was not there to witness the spectacular event. Well, I wouldn’t expect less from the Kuwaitis when it comes to overspending. They are Kuwaitis after all.

Last Saturday, Kuwait celebrated it’s golden jubilee or 50th anniversary of it’s constitution that became the first Arab state in the Gulf to issue a constitution and have a parliament. This was promulgated the late emir Sheikh Abdullah al-Salem al-Sabah back in November 11, 1962. Despite the political crisis Kuwait is facing right now, it’s really amusing to see this highly extravagant celebration. One hour of fireworks and laser display   on the seaside of the Arabian Gulf Road? I’d kill to see that. Man, I’m feeling more homesick than ever.

Yes, Kuwait has made the Guinness Book of World Records before. You can look it up at their official website. One record was made last year when Kuwait released 5,000 peace doves and the other involving the Americana Group. I’m not completely certain of the other records Kuwait has made but this awesome display of fireworks is definitely not the first. So proud of you, Kuwait! I can’t wait to go back!

Well, that’s it for now, my beloved readers. I am terribly sorry for being such a bad blogger lately. School started and I’ve become even busier than I hoped of being. I will make up for it, pinky promise!

Leave a Reply

