Saturday Special: Beauty and Brains

It’s Saturday again and you know what that means!

I’d like to introduce our Saturday Special for this week: Ms. Jessica Mae Cruz Domingo!

You guys are in for a very long post today and I promise you that it’ will definitely be worth your while.

Jessica (or Mae) is a good friend of mine. She was my classmate in Kuwait from the 4th grade up until our sophomore year of high school. I’ve known this spectacular lady for a very long time and she just continues to amaze me and everyone else around her. Read on to find out why. 🙂

This post is my interview with Mae and I hope you will enjoy reading as much as I did writing it. So, let us begin!

Three random things people do not yet know about you:

  1. My pictures might say otherwise but I’m not that into the whole bars/club scene. I don’t mind house parties but i prefer day trips, sleepovers, movies or bonfires. When i do go clubbing,i never dance with or even talk to any of the guys there.
  2. A lot of my friends have said they can see me marrying a doctor and I secretly get excited when I’m told that…must be the nurse in me.
  3. I’ve never gone through an entire bottle of fragrance, lotion or nail Polish. They just keep piling up and I purposely will stop using it when it’s almost empty because I want to keep it for memories.

You’ve done a lot of travelling, where is your favorite place in the world?

I’d have to say Boston. Not only was the city the prettiest one I’d ever seen but I felt that the Boston lifestyle fit me best as well.

Here are all of the dates and places Mae has moved to.

  • Philippines: 1991 – 2001,
  • Kuwait: 2001 – 2006,
  • Boston: 2006 – 2009,
  • Michigan: 2009 – present

One of the things I admire about Jessica is her relationship with her siblings. They remind of how tight I am with my sisters. Isn’t it just heartwarming to see siblings get along and treat each other like best friends? 🙂 Oh, and she has the most adorable baby sister ever!

What/Who inspires you the most?

A lot of people/things do. I find the simplest things to be inspirational and it serves as my reminder that no matter how bad you think your situation is, someone else has it worse and they’re not complaining.

Describe a perfect day.

Honestly? Spending it with my little sister. Just that and nothing but that . 🙂

Describe a typical day in your life.

Ha, really not that exciting. One thing’s for sure, it ain’t complete if I didn’t snag 50 kisses from little Jhasmine.

All of the years I’ve been classmates with Mae, she was always at the top of the class. Everyone who knows her can attest to how much of an intellectual she is. Her great intellect did not stop with PIES, it continues to excel in every venture she undertakes regardless of the location.

Out of all of your achievements, which means the most to you with regard to…? (and why)

School:

Probably being the 1st honor in PIES. I was really proud of myself then because I knew I did my best and I was always on top of things and people looked up to me. That and getting the scholarships I was awarded with. It just feels good knowing that someone you don’t even know believes in you.

Family:

Basically being the independent driven woman I am. My parents never had to hold my hands and push me to do things. If anything, they would tell me that I’m doing too much and I need to slow it down lol.

Yourself:

Getting the job I have right now, a nurse extern at the US Dept of Veterans Affairs. That’s probably the achievement that means the most to me currently because that symbolized me basically entering the real world and having a big girl job while I’m still in school. It was a very competitive process and I was more than ecstatic to be selected for such a wonderful opportunity.

What is your personal mantra?

It was my Facebook cover photo before: Do more, be more, have less.

Currently, Mae is studying BS Nursing at Madonna University in Livonia, Michigan. She’d often post pictures of her studying which is not a surprise to anyone who’s known Mae. It’s always amusing to see her achievements after all of the hard work she puts into it. At the age of 21, she’s achieved more than any of our batchmates ever did. I, for one, am proud that she still has a very strong moral compass. Why? Well, how many 16-19 and pregnant people have you been seeing lately? For Mae, she’s 21 and successful, and driven. I wish a lot of  people in our generation can say the same.

What is/are your studying technique/s?

I don’t try to memorize every single thing. Understanding the concept is a better way to go because you grasp the ins and outs of the topic and you can apply it to situations. Also, it can never hurt to find additional resources. If you were told to read pages so and so, you can always Google practice exams, youtube videos of it etc.

What are the three things that you wish you’d known when you were younger?

I really thank my parents for raising me well and protecting me from making those stupid mistakes I would’ve regretted. I didn’t see it back then but I appreciate it more than ever now. I just wish I knew back then and even can now, to take things slow. I’m always in a rush to achieve this, achieve that. Sometimes, I just need to wake up and smell the garden.

Now, let’s move on to the most anticipated part: Fashion!

Fashion/style icons and why:

Lauren Conrad. Her style is timeless, classy and effortless.

Describe your personal style in three words.

Effortless, practical, chic.

How long does it take you to dress up and get ready?

Typically 15 minutes, 45 max if I’m going to a party. I find that the more time I spend getting ready, the uglier I get haha totally not kidding

How have you developed your style?

Honestly, I just buy whatever appeals to me when I go shopping. I’m not the kind who spends hours and hours planning my wardrobe. If I see something I find cute, I get it then I just build on what I have. Last year when I’d used it actively, Tumblr gave me ideas but it really helps that I know what works for me. Sometimes, you’ll buy a dress you think looks really good on you and then you see pictures and wonder what the heck you were thinking haha It’s tedious trial and error but there’s always room to learn.

How do you choose an outfit for each day?

Well, living in Michigan where it could be 85 degrees one day and 58 the next, I always check the weather forecast first. Then, I try to anticipate what my day would consist of and how I would like to present myself. Think, if I were to see someone in this outfit, what would I think about it?

What would you wear on..
A first date:

A simple dress that compliments my body without revealing too much skin. As Emma Watson said, “the less you reveal, the more they wonder.” I find that a moderately tight-fitting dress with a heart neckline and ruching works best on my body. However, it’s all about the way you carry and present yourself. You can be wearing the hottest outfit but if you do not feel confident in it, it would show.

Night out with friends:

A semi-dressy top with a statement necklace and dark-washed skinny jeans + heels.

Casual day with friends:

I’ve really been into collar tops lately. They look fashionable without trying too hard.

A family day:

Having a 2-year old sister, an outfit for a family day typically requires one that would allow running around and other physical activities. A basic outfit for me involves a white tee tucked in short shorts with a stand out belt, cross pendant necklace, studs, aviators and my hair up.

Your hair is sensational, do you have any secrets for getting it so long and thick, or any tips on styling it?

Why, thank you. My hair is probably the first thing people notice about me. Unfortunately, I wanted to be a rebel and I just got it cut a couple weeks ago despite everyone telling me not to haha. I really don’t spend a lot of time getting ready and with my hair being so thick, it takes even longer to style it. One thing that probably really helps is that I almost never blow dry and I always use heat protectant whenever I do. I also only shampoo every other day, the other days I only use a conditioner when I wash it and some people might find this odd but I rarely brush my hair. It’s too much work!

What are the three “must have” things in your bag?

Carmex, phone and money.

How often do you shop, where do you go, and who with?

This summer since my schedule is not as hectic, I go whenever I get my bi-monthly paycheck if not more often. I don’t want to sound selfish but I prefer going shopping alone. It’s just that when you go with someone, you have to consider if they’re getting bored, want to go to the next store or maybe you have to wait around for them. I just find that I get more done going solo.

How do you feel about people saying that you look like Kim Chiu?

 I’ve been told I looked like her before I even knew she existed. Honestly, I don’t see it but it is such a compliment. Kim Chiu is drop dead gorgeous! I like her style too so that’s a plus . 🙂

Can you imagine my delight when Mae gave me permission to invade her closet and whatnot? 😀 You girlies can just drool over her accessories~

If you could share one piece of style/fashion advice, what would it be?

You can never have enough accessories! You can pull off a new outfit wearing the same top and jeans by changing up the accessories you pair them with. Accessories personalize an outfit that makes it your own.

How many pairs of shoes do you own, and which are your favourites?

 I’m not a big shoe person so I think I maybe have 50 or so pairs? Basically the ones I keep in my closet are my favorite and the rest are just all chillin in the garage and the basement. I especially love the olive and nude ones because they make my legs look good haha!

I actually took over the guest bedroom’s closet to hang more of my clothes lol

If you had to start your wardrobe from scratch, and your budget was limitless, what are the first five items would you go out and get right away?

CHANEL PURSE! I’m not much of a brand person but Chanel purses are simply so elegant and timeless. I’d want to get accessories next, preferably everything Aldo sells; it always has the cutest stuff! And since you mentioned a limitless budget, why not include a Movado wristwatch on the list, right? Again, I’d get it not because of the brand but because of the quality and its timeless and elegant look. Then, I’d get the basics: loose-fitting top and dark-washed skinny jeans.

What three items in your wardrobe do you wear the most?

I always go for the loose-fitting shirts. I like fall clothing because I can layer it with a scarf and a cardigan/leather jacket and I’m good to go.

If you were to help someone recreate their wardrobe, what pieces would you suggest they buy and where would you go to get them?

Before I suggest anything for them to buy, I’d want to have an idea of their own style first. I want them to figure out what works for them. In helping someone recreate their own wardrobe, it is vital that she doesn’t lose her individuality as she tries to become ‘more fashionable.’ Instead of simply telling her to get a certain piece because it is what’s in style, I’d suggest a fashionable item and then ask her how she could make it more her own. If she’s the floral type of person, she could maybe even use a floral dress she already owns and top that with a woven summer top and a scarf. I’m all about recycling what you already have. I get a big chunk of my stuff from Charlotte Russe and Aldo. They have all different kinds of things at a reasonable price and much better quality than that of Forever 21’s.

Your ultimate beauty must-haves?

A brow pencil. If I only had 30 seconds to get ready, I’d do my eyebrows. An eyeliner would be next on my list considering I look like a zombie without one. And of course, don’t forget tinted moisturizers. You can never protect your skin enough from UV rays.

This blog post ends with a quote from Jessica herself:

The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. Beautiful people do not just happen.

Well, wasn’t that just fun and insightful? Thank you, beloved readers, for reading until the very end. Special thanks to the beautiful Jessica Mae Domingo who agreed to do this blog post with me. I hope that this post has inspired you guys to some extent. 🙂

Hope you guys have a wonderful weekend!

Love lots!

– Celine 😀

2 thoughts on “Saturday Special: Beauty and Brains

  1. I simply want to say I am beginner to blogs and really savored your page. More than likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You actually have amazing posts. Bless you for sharing with us your blog site.

Leave a Reply

