How to prepare for Hellweek

Hello! Today is Manic Monday and I’m actually taking a study break right now. It’s…

That only means deeper and darker eyebags, sleepless nights, stress overload and honest to goodness studying. I’m not as stressed as I think I’m supposed to be. Not entirely sure why, probably because I don’t want to let it get to me or I’ll end up pulling all of my hair off.

I’m not your hardcore scholar student that prepares weeks before and end up perfecting the test. No, I’m just your average lazy smart kid. LOL, just kidding, I have Asian parents. Anyways, while I am on my break, I thought it’d be a good idea to share my process of preparing for exams. Each person has his or her own study habits and I’d like to share mine. I only have five simple steps:

  1. Proper planning and scheduling
  2. Rewriting lecture notes
  3. Read and analyze, don’t memorize
  4. Frequent study breaks
  5. Pray
PROPER PLANNING AND SCHEDULING
I have this BDJ Campus planner and I write on it everyday. I write the things that I need to do and the things I’ve done for the day. I allot time for each thing that I need to do. I write what time I’m supposed to study and what subject I should study for. Whenever I have like.. let’ say… 5 subjects to study for in a day (yes, it happens), I go with the easiest first and just make my way through it all. I end up accomplishing the things I listed before the day ends, as long as I discipline myself well enough for it. Although, I’ll admit that there have been times that I was soooooooo lazy to finish anything. It’s not good. Never do that!
Plan for your study work and everything will go smoothly afterwards, granted that you do them. Don’t just let plans stay as such. I promise you that the result will be very rewarding and infinitely satisfying.
REWRITING LECTURE NOTES
During class discussions, I take down notes on a yellow pad. I don’t use notebooks. Why yellow pad? Well, it’s because I’ve read an article that explains that using yellow pad with black or blue pen helps the brain to easily remember what’s on it. So, that yellow pad is just my scratch. At home, I rewrite them on a different yellow bond paper with different pen colors. I’ve been doing that program for a year now and it has actually improved my studying habit.
I don’t only rewrite lecture notes the way I wrote them in class, I add information. I read more details about the topic either from books or the internet and write them as well. This helps me further understand the topic in class, especially when it comes to graded recitation.
READ AND ANALYZE, DON’T MEMORIZE
During the times that I read books or other articles that will help improve my lecture notes, I try to relate everything to the things around me. This helps me become more compassionate to what I should learn about. I don’t memorize entirely because by analyzing them, it simply goes along with your brain. This helps prevent mental blocks during exams. Honestly.
FREQUENT STUDY BREAKS
Mkay, so I’m a super lazy person and I take a lot of study breaks. However, that doesn’t mean I don’t get things done. It’s just that, when I can’t concentrate I take breaks. I either eat, play or talk to someone. I can’t study if I’m not in the mood for it. Taking breaks helps me get back into that study mode I need. Also, breaks are good for the brain. You wouldn’t want to overload it and let it collapse on you during exams or the time you really need it most. This gives you and your brain some breathing time. However, don’t abuse it though or else it will just lead you to procrastinate. Discipline is an important factor.
PRAY
Of course, we need to pray. All that we’re doing, we are doing it for God’s glory. For as long as we try our very best, He won’t ever let us be. As the old saying goes,
Do your best and God will do the rest.
He won’t give us something we can’t handle. Also, sometimes God pushes us to our limits. It’s because He has greater faith in us than we have in ourselves. Always have faith in Him, especially in yourself and you’ll do just fine.
So, there you have it. Those are the five factors as to why I’m not entirely stressing out as much as I know I should be. I know that as long as I discipline myself and carry the sufficient amount of determination, I know I will ace those exams. With God’s grace, I shall triumph over any obstacle!
2 thoughts on “How to prepare for Hellweek

Leave a Reply

